Australia Timeline

  • 1770

    James Cook explored the eastern coast of Australia and named it New South Wales

  • 1778

    Great Britain made New South Wales a colony for prisoners

  • 1851

    Gold was discovered in New South Wales and Victoria.

  • 1901

    Australia became an independent country. Its capital was Melbourne.

  • 1927

    Canberra became the new capital of Australia.

  • 1967

    The Australian government passed laws to help the Aborigines and started giving them back their land.

  • 1999

    Australia’s population voted to stay a monarchy. Elisabeth II remains the Head of State.

  • 2000

    Sydney organised the 2000 Summer Olympics.