Australia lies south of the equator , so its seasons are opposite to the ones on the northern hemisphere. The southern part of Australia has four seasons. Winters are cool and rainy and last from June to August. Summers are hot and dry and last from December to January.

The northern part of the continent has a tropical climate with only two seasons. The wet season from November to April brings a lot of rain , storms and floods . The dry season lasts from May to October.

One third of Australia is desert and gets less than 25 cm of rainfall a year. The wettest part of the continent lies in the south and southeast. It gets rain the whole year, sometimes up to 3 metres. Snow only falls in the higher places of the Australian Alps.

Droughts are a big problem in many parts of Australia. In some places it doesn't rain for many months. This leads to bush fires and a shortage of water.

Climate zones in Australia
Image: Martyman

Skiing resort in New South Wales
Image: Picturesk